SMM story

I thought I’d do a follow up post now I’ve had the SMM (Surgical management of miscarriage).

Yesterday was a very long day. We got to hospital just after 10am and then were in for a wait. We tried to make the “best of it”; I binged on downloaded Netflix stuff and Graeme finished a book. It was tedious though and I was glad when things got going. I’d gone through the process of meeting the consultant etc and then it was all change. Another team in theatre finished surprisingly early so things went quickly from there – they got me and the other 2 women down pretty fast. 3.10pm I was on my way to the anaesthetist. I got very scared very quickly. Tearful, anxious, quite frankly terrified. But before I knew it I was having a dream and I woke up in recovery. Graeme said I was gone about an hour and 35 minutes so not too bad.

I was told it all went very well. No ill effects from the anaesthetic and little pain elsewhere. Nothing a few painkillers can’t kill.

We got home about 7.15pm, after a quick McDonald’s drive thru we got home to see William which was the best thing. My mum was in the middle of bedtime stories.

I am generally feeling ok, tearful on and off. So relieved it’s over and we can move forward.

Thank you to everyone who has sent me messages, it means so much. It has helped me a great deal to talk about it. If anyone wants to ask anything or chat about any of it I’m always here.

xx

Leave a comment